Birds of Eurasia | Photo and description of birds of prey

Predators, as a rule, are called those who feed on animal origin, and not plant. Bird birds are hunters. But not all hunters are considered predators, as most birds eat flesh.

For example, most small birds eat insects or feed insects to their chicks. Even hummingbirds eat small insects and spiders. Trucks, seagulls and herons eat fish, since you can distinguish ordinary birds from predators?

The main difference between birds of prey is the morphology of the body (powerful claws and beaks adapted for capture, killing and eating the victim) and the ability to hunt in flight. Their dimensions vary from 60 grams. up to 14 kg.

There are about 287 species of birds of prey in the world, and experts classify them in different ways. According to one of the classification systems, they are divided into two groups:

  • Falconiformes (falconiformes);
  • Strigiformes (owls).
  • Both of these orders share the two main specific characteristics listed above: powerful claws and hook-shaped beaks.

    Falconiformes are mostly diurnal (active during daylight hours), Owls are mostly nocturnal (active at night).

    These two orders of birds are not related to each other, but have similar characteristics in the manner of hunting.

    Representatives of both groups are found on the territory of Eurasia.

    Strigiformes (owls)

    The adaptability of owls to natural conditions is amazing. Their representatives can be found at almost all latitudes of Eurasia from the Arctic zone to the steppe. In general, ornithologists count about 18 species, which is 13% of all known in the world. The most common are:

    Snowy or snowy owl


    short-eared owl

    hawk owl

    Ussuri owl

    Rough-legged Owl

    sparrow owl

    barn owl

    Falconiformes (falconiformes)

    On the territory of Eurasia, there are 46 species of diurnal birds of prey. In the forest and mountain zones, the most common are:

    Golden eagle



    saker falcon

    peregrine falcon

    In mid-latitudes, you can find among others:


    common buzzard


    white-tailed eagle


    The largest representatives of falconiformes found on the territory of Eurasia are:

    black vulture

    Steller’s sea eagle

    Black vulture an endangered species listed in the Red Book. Their favorite habitat is hilly and mountainous areas, although they are also found in the expanses of the steppes.

    The weight of the bird ranges from 5-14 kg. The body length reaches 120 cm, and the wingspan is about three meters. Plumage dark brown. A special feature is the whitish fluff covering the neck and head of the bird, a kind of necklace on the lower part of the neck, which is formed by pointed feathers and yellow legs.

    Birds fly slowly, as if they are hovering above the ground, making a quiet sound resembling a hiss.

    The Steller’s Sea Eagle is named for its distinctive coloration. The bird itself is dark in color, but the tail, shoulders, rump, thighs and forehead are bright white. This powerful animal, whose weight reaches 9 kg, is also listed in the Red Book.

    It is assumed that these eagles breed only in Far Eastern Eurasia, along the coasts and adjacent islands of the Sea of ​​Okhotsk and the Bering Sea. Their largest population is found on the Kamchatka Peninsula.

    Each winter, some of the Steller’s sea eagles migrate from their breeding grounds to Japan, and some of them reach Korea or even further. Other individuals do not migrate, but simply move into open water as winter approaches.

    Open water provides these eagles with their main food sources along coastlines and lakes, as their main diet is fish. In breeding areas, salmon is the main food for sea eagles.

    ( No ratings yet )
    Leave a Reply

    ;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!: